Dancing on a Volcano

Forest Collective presents
Dancing on a Volcano
“The whole town and all it’s inhabitants are quite drowned in carnival din, masks and confetti. And on top of that the news of the Reichstag fire. Dancing on a volcano” 
- Alban Berg
Forest Collective’s end of year concert features rarely heard works created during the time of the Nazi regime. This performance will include mainly German and Jewish composers who were either supported or banned during this time. Other notable composers include Isla Webber, Kurt Weill, Franz Schreker (5 lieder für tiefe stimme will be performed by Lotte Betts-Dean, joining us from the UK), Frederich Hollander, Mischa Spoliansky, Henri Dutilleux and Olivier Messiaen. Messiaen’s clarinet solo from Quartet for the End of Time, which beautifully demonstrates that art prevails in times of political and social pressures as it was written while he was confined to a concentration camp will be performed alongside the elegant Dutilleux Oboe Sonata.

Franz SCHREKER| 5 lieder fur tiefe stimme For Mezzo Soprano and Ensemble, in a new arrangement by Evan Lawson
Olivier MESSIAEN | Abime des oiseaux from Quatuor pour la fin du temps For solo clarinet
Henri DUTILLEAUX | Oboe Sonata For oboe and ensemble, in a new arrangement by Jasper Ly
Arnold SCHOENBERG  | A Pale Washerwoman from Pierrot Lunaire For Voice and Piano
Ilse WEBER | Ich wandre durch Theresienstadt For voices and piano
Kurt WEILL | Nanna’s Lied For Mezzo Soprano and Ensemble, in a new arrangement by Alexander Morris
Kurt WEILL | Schikelgruber For Mezzo Soprano and Piano
Frederich HOLLANDER | Illusions For Mezzo Soprano and Accordion
Mischa SPOLIANSKY | Ich bin ein Vamp! For Mezzo Soprano and Ensemble, in a new arrangement by Alexander Morris
Lotte Betts-Dean - Mezzo Soprano solo
Kate Bright - Mezzo Soprano solo
Jasper Ly - Oboe solo
Ed Ferris - Clarinet solo
Evan Lawson - Conductor
Tanya Vincent - Flutes
William Cooper - Accordion
Nicholas Yates - Saxophones
Danae Killian - Piano
Dovi Hanner - Violin 
Beatrix Pickett - Viola
Louisa Guo - Cello
Rebecca Scully - Double Bass
Friday December 16th 7:30pm (preview) 
Saturday December 17th 7:30pm 
Sunday December 18th 5pm
$38 Full price, $28 Concession, $15 U15’s
To book: https://events.ticketbooth.com.au/event/forest-collective-2016
Preview $15 at the door
St. Stephen’s Church, 360 Church Street, Richmond, 3121.
PTV:  Number 79 tram, close walk from the number 75 and 70 tram