Garden of Ice

Forest Collective and Melbourne Recital Centre presents, as part of the Metropolis New Music Festival
The Garden of Ice 

Friday April 4th 6pm 2014
Salon, Melbourne Recital Centre
Cnr of Sturt Street and Southbank Blvd. Southbank, Vic.
Duration: 1 hour (no interval)
Tickets - $38/$28, for tickets call (03) 9699 3333

Forest Collective present’s new works alongside influential composers inspired by the mythology, music and the natural beauty of Scandinavia. Joined by Melbourne Soprano Rosemary Ball for a walk through this wintry garden, you will be enchanted by the contemporary compositions from Australia and afar, including Kaija Saariaho, Lars Ekstrom, Lisa Illean and Evan Lawson


Jean SIBELIUS movement from Ten pieces op. 58 (1909) for solo piano

Kaija SAARIAHO Ariel’s Hall (2004) for Soprano and ensemble

Kaija SAARIAHO Miranda’s Lament (1997) for Soprano and ensemble

Lars EKSTRÖM Garden of Ice (1996) for Flutes, Clarinet, Percussion, Piano, Violin, Viola and Cello

Evan LAWSON Sikinnis No. 1 (2010) for Solo Flute

Lisa ILLEAN And the black sea, Breaks… (2014, world premier) for Alto Flute, Bass Clarinet, Percussion, Harp, Violin, Viola and Cello

Claude DEBUSSY Le Balcon (1887-9) arranged by Evan Lawson for Soprano and ensemble


Rosemary Ball - Soprano

Evan Lawson - Conductor

Naomi Johnson - Flutes

Edward Ferris - Clarinets

Marshall McGuire - Harp

Luke Paulding - Piano

Louis Sharpe - Percussion

Katriona Tsyrlin - Violin

Bridget Graham - Viola

Georgie Kirkham - Cello

Stephanie Gaffric - Associate Producer

garden of ice.jpg