Shared Sounds

Forest Collective presents
Shared Sounds

An interactive chamber music event featuring music by Benjamin Britten in his centenary year, contemporary British composer Mark-Anthony Turnage, Melbourne composer Johanna Selleck, Japanese composer Toru Takemitsu, his student Barry Conyngham with world premiere performances of music by May Lyon and Evan Lawson. This performance features our 2013 Ensemble in Residence Petrichor (Jess Fotinos – Harp, Rowan Hamwood – Flute and Alexina Hawkins – Viola, ANAM), Daniel Todd (Victorian Opera developing artist, tenor) and Rosemary Ball (Soprano).

To book tickets please visit:


Benjamin Britten (1913 - 1976) - Canticle No. V (1974) for Harp and Tenor

May Lyon - A Dream Within A Dream (2013) for Harp and Tenor, text by Edgar Allen Poe

Toru Takemitsu (1930 - 1996) - And then I knew ‘Twas Wind (1992) for Flute, Viola and Harp

Evan Lawson - Sikinnis No.2 (2013) for Flute, Viola and Harp

Ben Harrison - 2 Improvisations for solo Trumpet

Barry Conyngham - Streams (1988) for Flute, Viola and Harp

Evan Lawson - Interlude in a Dream (2012) for Soprano and mixed ensemble

Johanna Selleck - Aia (2011) for mixed ensemble

Mark-Anthony Turnage (1960) - Three Farewells (1990) for mixed ensemble


Conductor- Evan Lawson

Petrichor - Jess Fotinos (harp), Alexina Hawkins (viola) and Rowan Hamwood (flute)

Tenor - Daniel Todd

Soprano - Rosemary Ball

Clarinet - Vilan Mai

Trumpet - Benjamin Harrison

Bassoon - Ellan Hyde

Violin - Beatrix Stewart and Kat Tsyrlin

Cello - Ayrlie Lane


First presented Saturday April 6th and 7th 2013

Industrial School, Abbotsford Convent 1 St. Heliers Street, Abbotsford 3067


Review of Shared Lines by Matthew Lorenzon for Partial Durations, a collaboration with Real Time April 2013